Skip to content

Health Changes

January 9, 2012
Vinegar

Image by Sean MacEntee via Flickr

Last week was so great in that I heard from several friends via e-mail and phone calls with recipes, tips and ideas to help me get past that tomato based issue I was having. It seems all I could come up with for our meals were foods that were tomato based and we were getting tired of it quick. Plus, the fact that we need to stay away from inflammatory foods and tomatoes are inflammatory. We enjoyed a wonderful vegetable quiche, which was a hit when it was served. I had not made a quiche in years and it turned out great. Many thanks to all of you who contacted me with your encouragement.

We both have continued to feel increased energy and continue to lose weight and inches. He loses weight and I lose inches. (sighs) But, we are slowly getting there.

Larry has had – what the doctor calls –  R.A. nodules in the back of his knees now and then. The nodules seem to move around.He has asked the doctor about them on several occasions and never seems to get a satisfactory answer as to what these “nodules” really are. We finally determined that the doctors don’t know since they keep blowing him off like that.

Larry had one the week before last but it has disappeared this past week and it has stayed gone. We are almost three weeks into our vegan lifestyle change. We still don’t know exactly what the nodule was, but we are both glad that it is gone.

I’ve had – for a few years – problems with my eyes sometimes having horrible pain first thing in the morning. The doctors don’t seem to know what it is nor do they care – except for my chiropractor. He is the only one that tracks what is going on and tries to help me figure it out. Due to the lack of interest from the doctors, I assumed it was nutritional and started researching, but could find nothing.

Through trial and error, I had discovered that it was related to sugars, so I cut out sugars dramatically. Later, I discovered it was related to ALL inflammatory foods, so I started cutting back on that. I also learned that doing a daily vinegar eye wash helped to control the pain and inflammation in my eyes, as well as clear up blurriness. Due to the vinegar eye wash, I am now able to read things in smaller print than before I had started the eye wash. More recently, I have learned that I can control the inflammatory eye pain with the use of elderberry, so I’ve been taking that daily.

However, this past week, there were a couple of days when I almost forgot to do my eye wash or take my elderberry because, for the first time in years, I was not having issues with my eyes!!

Hippocrates was right when he said, “Let thy food be medicine and medicine thy food.” I totally agree with that and I truly believe that God has allowed us all the resources we need on this earth to find healing through nutrition. It has been that way for both of us this past week and we are excited, as the weeks go by, to see other changes that will be coming our way. I know they will all be for the good.

**********

Vinegar Eye Wash recipe:

1/3 teaspoon Bragg organic vinegar

4 ounces distilled water

You don’t have to use the Bragg brand of vinegar, but be sure to use organic vinegar that still has the “mother” in it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Peter @ MoreApplesADay permalink
    January 9, 2012 12:34 pm

    Great to hear that your health is improving and that you are noticing the benefits of a truly healthy diet.

    Tomatoes (raw) are actually mildly anti-inflammatory http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/vegetables-and-vegetable-products/2682/2, but should still only be eaten in moderation, like most foods. Get your nutrients from a variety of natural foods on a daily basis and you will continue to reap the benefits.

    As for your eyes, sugar (the fake stuff) is very inflammatory and is likely linked to that pain. I am releasing an article tomorrow about migraines and from what I have read, a lot of our head, neck, and facial pains may be due to the culminating triggers overwhelming our pain thresholds.

    Best wishes to your health…

    LIVE Longer We Will!

  2. January 9, 2012 6:15 pm

    Thanks, Peter. Yes, it took me a long time to determine the sugar was related to the eye pain, but I have learned how to manage it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

